Waffles on the brain

I’ve been reading Heather‘s blog for a long time and here lately she’s been eating a lot of waffles! 🙂

I will freely admit that seeing what others eat sometimes influences my own food decisions. Especially since I haven’t had frozen waffles in what seems like ages!

But now that I am vegan, I have to be extra careful to read the ingredients list and get a good box for a decent amount of money.

First up:

027

I’ve like Nature’s Path brand products for a while now, so I figured these were a safe bet.

028

I have to tell you, I had the hardest time getting these to come out right. It says on the box to let them sit out and thaw a little bit, but when I’m ready for breakfast as soon as my feet hit the floor, it’s hard to be patient.

So I ate a couple of these soggy, a couple burnt, then finally one time I think I got it right (when I had to take breakfast to go).

These were just okay. Kind of bland, even for maple cinnamon.

Next up:

I decided to stick with the Nature’s Path brand and just try a different variety. These caught my eye due to the “flax” and “omega 3” which are key words for this gal.

Oh my gosh! So much better. These came out great and all I had to do was put them in the toaster on a low setting. No sogginess, no burnt edges, no thawing out!

I think I’m just a plain jane girl when it comes to waffles and a few other things. Might as well start out with something basic and wholesome, then dress it (or flavor it) up however you want at that particular moment 😉

I think I am going to try the Hemp Plus next before I move on to another brand.

What are your favorite frozen waffles?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 17, 2010, in Breakfast, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My favorite frozen waffles are the ones I make with my waffle iron and freeze. They are nice and big 😉

  2. I got some of the Maple Cinn ones awhile back and I just toasted those on low and didn’t have any troubles – sorry you did! Mean ole waffles 🙂

  3. I love Nature’s Path POMPlus waffles! not sure if they are vegan though.

Leave a Reply

