Hip update

No, unfortunately I don’t mean cutting edge or exciting “hip” but rather my actual hip. Ha ha!

Image Source

But it’s still good news. Last week, over at my other blog, See Sarah Eat, I told you guys that I had injured my hip after deciding to take up walking again two weeks ago.

Well, I rested it over the long weekend, walking as little as possible and I also did some yoga to stretch it out. Then yesterday (Tuesday) I went for my first walk to see if I could determine what was making it sore and to prevent that from happening.

Since I did a few different things and I’m not really sure what worked the most, I’ll list them all out here:

  • I wore different shoes — I have a sneaking suspicion you aren’t supposed to walk in your running shoes!
  • I made my stride length shorter in order to avoid over-extending. This was hard and took a lot of conscious effort.
  • I made sure my foot hit the ground in a  heel-toe motion, instead of trying to walk like I run.
  • I didn’t walk as fast as I usually do.

I have nothing to report! My hip feels better and I think using the above strategies when I go walking will insure that it doesn’t happen again.

I had no idea that I had been out of the habit of walking, so much that I have had to re-learn how to walk! For fitness purposes anyway.

Is there a form of exercise you haven’t done in a while that you picked back up recently? Did you have to “re-learn” anything?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 7, 2010, in Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

