I feel like Popeye

This week, thanks to a feature post on Healthy Ashley‘s site, I discovered the wonderful Angela of Oh She Glows! I’ve been following her site for the past few days and I’m so glad I found her πŸ™‚ She’s also doing a Crap Free Week right now to detox from sugar, but she’s a couple days ahead of me. Anyway, for breakfast, she’s been having what she refers to as “Green Monsters” aka breakfast smoothies that include greens. I had seen people do spinach smoothies before and had always wanted to try one and for some reason she inspired me to do so today.

fridaybreak3

Here’s what went into my smoothie, taken directly from Angela’s site, with some slight modifications:

1 cup milk

A few ice cubes

Two big handfuls of spinach leaves

1 tbsp ground flax

1 medium banana

Oh…my…word. This was so good it made me wonder why the heck I haven’t been drinking these everyday! What an awesome way to get veggies in first thing in the morning. She was right too, I could not taste the spinach at all, it tasted very much like a banana smoothie. Every once in a while, I could feel the texture of the spinach (and flax) but I think I could’ve blended it a bit longer. Still, that wasn’t bad or anything. Plus look how cool the green color is! πŸ˜‰

I also had a slice of bread (not toasted) with a tbsp of natural peanut butter. This breakfast was awesome and I can’t wait to make more of these smoothies in the future. Especially in the summer time when its warmer, although yesterday we were in the 60’s (raining and windy though). The temps are going back down today unfortunately but hopefully Spring is right around the corner (please)!

I just feel so good about starting off my morning that way. They are right when they say breakfast sets the tone. If you really enjoy breakfast and it makes you feel good, you are likely to feel that way the rest of the day. How cool. I’m thinking about having another tomorrow and using different fruits. Yay!

Happy Friday πŸ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 27, 2009, in blogging, Breakfast, recipes, smoothie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. happynhealthynlove

    Hi! I really enjoy reading your site! I’m just starting mine up!
    This shake looks interesting and I think I’ll try it. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Hey hunnie!
    Just wanted to let you know I posted your GMon my new website!

    http://greenmonstermovement.com/?p=63

  1. Pingback: » Blog Archive » Sarah’s Green Monster

  2. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment