Sharing a vegan dinner

When I first transitioned to eating a vegan diet, I was a little afraid of how some of my friends and family would respond.

I’ve always liked making healthy dishes and sharing them with whomever would try them, and my best friend Court is always game for whatever I make. She’s awesome like that.

mencourt

So last night, I busted out the recipe for Happy Herbivore’s vegan meatloaf and mashed potatoes. You will recall, I made the faux meatloaf several weeks ago for my other omni friend Renee and it was awesome!

This time, I added green peppers but kept everything else the same (note: I almost always sub oats for bread crumbs).

016

This was my first time making the vegan mashed potatoes and it was so easy. I also used a little Smart Balance Light since it is vegan!

015

They turned out kind of spicy (think it was the garlic powder) but that was a good thing. Yum!

017

I steamed my broccoli in my steamer and I have to say, I don’t want to buy frozen vegetables anymore! Something about buying fresh veggies and steaming them not only tastes good but makes me feel good too.

Courtney said everything was really good and that I should make this for our Wednesday night potluck soon 😉

She brought over this delicious wine from Argentina.

014

I thought I had never had Argentinean wine before but apparently the Gato Negro I had the other night is also from there…I didn’t even look, ha ha.

This wine was really good, I have to say it rivals the Yellowtail Shiraz for me, which is a current favorite. Plus what a cute name and label (they get me every time).

019

We had fun watching the UFC and spending time together. What a great weekend this has been, truly.

I can’t wait to start a new week though, time to pile on some more miles!

I also have an Exercise Science exam tomorrow but I’m taking the approach I did with the first one, just reviewing my notes and not trying to memorize everything like I did on the second test. I did much better the first time because of that!

How do you study? Do you do better when you study over the course of a few days, using flashcards and memorization? Or are you better just reviewing, winging it and counting on a good night’s sleep to help your brain retain the information?

I’m in the latter group there. It’s weird but procrastination and not preparing too much pays off for me. Ha ha.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 15, 2009, in Dinner, products, recipes, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Andy and I are watching UFC right now. (He recorded it.)

    YUM that vegan meatloaf looks really good! I love subbing oats for breadcrumbs in meatloaf.

  2. Fabulous din din.. it’s fun sharing your creations with “non” vegans.. Usually they are amazed at how awesome the food can be!!

  3. I watched UFC too and I’m so glad Couture won!

    I used to be a last minute study kind of girl, but now that I don’t have tests (almost all papers) it doesn’t work in my favor!

  4. That meatloaf looks really good and you can’t ever go wrong with mashed potatoes =)

    Dude you will appreciate this…I met Anthony Michael Hall last night!!!!!!!!!!!

    ohhh that wine reminds me of Yellowtail =)

  5. The food looks great, Sarah! We missed you today – but I totally understand!
    Funky Llama wine-how fun!
    I tried spaghetti squash the other night, by the way. Very tasty!! I didn’t even know it existed before your blog. 🙂
    Love ya! See you in Dec.!!!

  1. Pingback: The Happy Herbivore stops by! | See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment