Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

I have dessert for our girl’s night potluck tonight and I knew exactly what I wanted to make.

A few weeks ago, I was watching my girl Nigella on Food Network and she was making some delicious chocolate chip muffins.

Now, I’m pretty sure all of her recipes aren’t vegan but this one was simple enough that I was able to make appropriate vegan substitutions as well as save some calories by reducing the sugar and fat content.

019

Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins (adapted from Nigella Lawson)

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar (her recipe calls for 3/4 cup, I always cut back)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy semisweet chocolate chips (as opposed to 1 cup and I still ended up having 2 tbsp leftover) including some to sprinkle
  • 1/3 cup + 1/4 cup all natural applesauce (replaced the egg and oil)

Directions: Mix dry ingredients first, then add wet ingredients in. Stir until well combined, then pour into 12 muffin cups.

Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Cool and enjoy!

Her recipe online said vanilla extract, but I don’t recall hearing that on the show and I didn’t write it down. But I’m sure they are fine without it!

I added up everything I used and these came out to be about 150 calories per muffin. Awesome 🙂

I licked the spoon after I poured the mixture into the cups. The batter tasted like pudding. I had to fill the bowl with water before I licked it too!

020

They looked great when they came out of the oven. I wish my pan were more attractive, ha ha.

021

I love how the chips on top melt but still stay mostly intact.

022

I packed the muffins up last night to get ready to take to for the girls.

023

But I knew there was no way I wasn’t trying one (or two) first. I had to make sure they were edible, right?

025

They were delicious! The only bad thing is they kind of stuck to the paper.

026Can’t wait to share these with the girls 🙂 I’m sure they will love them!

Do you watch Food Network? Have you ever made a recipe you saw on a show?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Dessert, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Did you peel the wrapper off while they were still a little warm? If so, that’s probably why the wrapper stuck. I have that problem all the time with muffins and cupcakes because I’m not patient enough to wait for them to cool. But the cooled ones always come out of the paper just fine. They look amazing!!

  2. OMG, these look awesome! Good work 🙂

  3. WOW those look so delish! your amigas are very lucky

  4. oh wow!!! They look SO good!!!!

  5. Vegan baking is awesome because you can lick the bowl! Love that!

  6. wow yum! Those look divine!!!! I make stuff that Sandra Lee makes! She’s my fav.

  7. I tried making them and had to seriously alter your recipe. Are you sure that you aren’t missing one of the wet ingredients? When I followed your recipe, it was way too dry. I had to add a bunch more applesauce and some oil. Still turned out well though!

    • Hi Caroline – I do remember that they were a bit dry the next day but the first one I ate straight out of the oven was fine. But, I think if I made them again, I would do what you did. I’m glad you tried them! Thanks 🙂

      • I am having the same issue too. I am in the process of making them and have added 3/4 more applesauce because the batter wasn’t wet at all with the 1/3 + 1/4 cup applesauce the recipe calls for. I hope they turn out well anyway!

    • I HAD THE SAME ISSUE!!!

  8. I cut the sugar and the choc. chips in half, baked for 10 minutes. Made 8 mini muffins. They came straight out of the pan with a little pam and no muffin holders.

  9. ok, so I made these last night, and followed your recipe, but something must have happened along the way because there was not enough wet ingredients. The mixture was so powdery. I had to keep adding liquids to make it runny, like water, milk and more yogurt (I didn’t have apple sauce). The muffins taste really dense and the paper sticks to them as well. How did you get yours to be runny with all that flour and little wet ingredients??

    • Hi Jenny! Sorry they did not turn out well for you. I do remember them being a bit dry the next day and they stuck to the paper, as I mentioned. I have since started using oil in my recipes and also pastry flour, both have made a big difference in denseness, dryness and stickiness. Like this one: https://seesaraheat.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-muffins-redux/

      I also used a hand mixer which may be how I was able to get everything runny. It’s been a while, my memory is not as clear! Sorry again, hope this helps. Thanks for commenting 🙂

  10. you forgot to put the milk in the recipe. that’s why everyone is complaining about how dry they are. without the milk they were useless. I took out the cocoa and added 1cup chocolate soy milk. presto!

  11. I added 1 cup of almond milk (keeping the cocoa), substituted .5 tsp Stevia for the sugar, and used wheat flour. I also added a tsp vanilla extract (because I’m addicted to it) and a sprinkling of ground cloves (it is December, after all!). The cupcakes ended up being about 130 calories each (I made a batch of 12 of them) and they were *delicious*. Thank you so much for the recipe!

  12. The recipe should be quite dry, not at all runny, so add more flour depending on how moist your stewed fruit is and how the batter is looking.I cut the sugar and the choc.chips in half, baked for 10 minutes.Made 8 mini muffins.They came straight out of the pan with a little pam and no muffin holders.

  13. Same here with the need of liquid. It was not enough with the recipe as is. Added 1/2 a cup of soy milk and it made a thick batter and rather dense muffins. They taste nice though!

  14. I honestly wasted all my ingredients. I had to toss all of them out because the middle of the muffin wouldn’t cook due to how dense it was so the bottom and the top came out dry. I even added soymilk to the batter to make it more moist and it didn’t work either. You should update the recipe if given the chance. I was so disappointed.

  1. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins « See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment