Day 20.3: Wine and vegan meatloaf

What a great night!

My friend Renee was coming over for dinner, so I got started on the Vegan Meatloaf from Happy Herbivore early since it had to be in the oven for an hour.

First I got out all the ingredients:

001

Then I chopped up my onion like a mad woman. Big props to my Pampered Chef chopper…that thing rules and is totally worth the money.

002

Then I got started on making the loaf. It was SO EASY!

I followed everything to a T, except the optional ingredients which I left out. One change I did make, was I used oats instead of bread crumbs.

003

Before going into the oven (and topped with organic ketchup).

004

Oh my gosh. This seriously tasted so good. Except for the fact that it was not at all greasy, this tasted like meatloaf. I mean that, sincerely. YUM! Even Renee, who is an omnivore, agreed. I sent the recipe home with her!

We had some broccoli too 🙂

006

And some vino!

005

The wine was a brand called Cupcake which was picked for the name which was fine with me since I love cupcakes!

009

It was a Cabernet Savignon and at first, we both found it a little dry but once we warmed up to it, it was really good!

010

I know some wines aren’t vegan but I didn’t really worry about that tonight. Everything else was!

For dessert we had So Delicious chocolate peanut butter non-dairy ice cream 🙂

007

Okay, chocolate velvet has some competition! The peanut butter part was very…peanut butter-y,  ha ha. But I loved it and it was so nice of my friend to bring it over. We also had another glass of wine with dessert!

I had so much fun drinking wine, turning on some music, making a vegan dinner and catching up with my oldest friend.

then

Renee and I have known each other since we were five but it has been a long time since it’s just been the two of us.

now

She’s actually taller than me, this was a re-enactment, ha ha. When we were kids, I was a foot taller than her!

Hope you had a great night as well. See you all tomorrow!

p.s. Don’t forget to Vote For Me for the Sam-e “Good Mood Gig” 🙂 You can vote once every day between now and October 30th. Thank you!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, products, recipes, reviews, wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. aw cute post! I have always wanted to try that product but was a little nervous it wouldn’t turn out well. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

  2. If you are looking for a vegan wine Yellowtail reds are vegan. The Siraz is wonderful, and it’s reasonably priced, and easy to find almost everywhere, including Target.

    I admit though that I don’t always check. We had out of town guests last week and they brought us wine that I couldn’t find on the list, but k drank it anyway. I don’t want veganism to seem like some stuffy, stuck up, hard thing to do, ya know?

    Anyway, if you ever want to know if your booze are vegan Barnivore.com is a good place to look.

  3. Sounds like a fun night! That recipe looks similar to my “veggie loaf” except I use whatever beans I have on have on hand instead of the fake ground beef. Sounds awesome! Glad you guys had fun!!

  4. I will have to try your meatloaf recipe! It looks and sounds delicious!

    And I have have the same PC food chopper. You’re right, it’s worth every penny. 🙂

  5. Where’d you get the recipe? Looks & sounds good. I’ve love to test it on my boyfriend to see if he’d even realize it was meatless.

  1. Pingback: Day 21: Oops, I did it again! « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Day 22.2: In need of rest « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Sharing a vegan dinner « See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment