My new yoga challenge

As a runner, I really came to appreciate yoga for the way it stretches and heals my sore muscles. Flexibility is so important. I also love the stress-relieving and meditative aspects of the practice. So why have I neglected it for so long now?

You may remember I used to do yoga at least once a week thanks to classes offered where I work. Those start up again on January 19th, so I can’t wait to add that to my calendar!

But for now, I have to fall back on an old favorite 🙂

There are so many new programs out there I have yet to try, I see that they now offer video classes! I also have a lot of programs on Exercise TV that I want to check out too. I just need to declare it here on the blog to make me do it 🙂

I also want to take some “real life” classes so that will be a project of mine this season too. Carrie, I want to finally come and see you! Hold me to it!!

So…

I’m committing here to you, that I will be doing some form of yoga FOUR DAYS A WEEK!

I was doing to say every day but realistically, I can’t commit to that right now. Hopefully someday but with a busy schedule and mini marathon training program to focus on, 4 days is much more doable for me. This will likely be a combination of downloads, classes, and videos.

I’m plan on starting tomorrow morning before breakfast 🙂

What challenges are you committing to right now?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 12, 2010, in challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I may have to speak w/ you in Feb…I have something up my sleeve…or on my yoga mat…if you will

  2. I am currently taking on some Exercise TV yoga myself- Fitness Fusion! I’m not the biggest fan, but like you said, I’m aware of how good it can be for the muscles. And until I can start running again, I’ve learned to appreciate it as one of the few things I’m allowed to do…

  3. I challenged myself to 5 days a week of yoga this new year. So far so good. I’ve missed the last 2 days of it and I miss it!

  4. Great for you! That was something I wanted to commit myself to this year as well–we’ll see how it goes. I do love Exercise TV OnDemand though, so great!

  5. Great Challenge! I remember when I first started to blog, I did the Yoga 30 Day Challenge…towards the end, I started to hate yoga! (((GASP)))))) Four days a week is MUCH better!

    Right now I am doing a Jillian 30 day Challenge!

  6. I’m toying with the idea of doing a small triathlon in about 5 months…

  7. I teach every Tuesday evening, 6:30pm at Eternal Health Yoga. I teach Yin yoga on that evening, so it’ll be a little different from what you are used to as yoga, but VERY beneficial to you as someone that has such a great workout routine. It’s a fantastic compliment to physical activity.

    Also, this coming Saturday, the 16th I’ll be teaching a hatha class there at 11 am. It’s a fun class to attend as well, but I don’t teach it every week.

    And, I do private/semi private instruction if you or friends are ever interested in that!!

  8. yoga 4 days a week sounds like such a great challenge! yogadownload.com will for sure do the job! gentle hatha numero dos is definitely my fav well besides the lunar one which is perf for right before bed

  1. Pingback: Melt already! « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: How’s that yoga challenge going? « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Welcome to my fitness blog! « River City Fitness

  4. Pingback: Yoga Challenge: Week 2 « River City Fitness

  5. Pingback: Yoga Challenge : Week 3 « River City Fitness

  6. Pingback: Yoga calling « River City Fitness

Leave a comment