Another recipe fail?

Another Wednesday girl’s night potluck has come and gone. This week I had the main dish and while it wasn’t terrible, I was a bit disappointed. But let’s back up!

Yesterday’s breakfast was 5 grain cereal with almond butter and some dried fruit (cherries, blueberries, and cranberries) that I received in a packet a while back at a cancer info booth.

001

Mid-morning, I took a walk and then snacked on some mixed nuts (2 tbsp).

002

For lunch, I had a veggie burger in a pita pocket with avocado, tomato and spicy mustard, plus some carrots and hummus on the side.

003

I had a hard time stuffing everything into the pita pocket! I think I overdid it a bit 😉

004

After lunch, I had class and then a meeting, so when I got back I was more than ready for some tea and chocolate (it’s becoming a ritual I think).

005

I had brought some soy yogurt and cereal as my afternoon snack but I sat there and kept asking myself if I was hungry. Nope. Usually I would eat it anyway, but I decided to save it for the next day instead.

I love it when that happens! No, not skipping a snack. Just being intuitive and feeling good about my choices.

After work, I met Farrah for a run. We did a bit more than 3 miles, most of it running but there were a few walks in there. I’m trying to build back up to running 5Ks, the first of which will be next month!

When I got home, I was finally hungry so I snacked on some more mixed nuts (another 2 tbsp).

For the main dish at girls night, I prepared a Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake using this recipe from allrecipes.com as my guide with a few substitutions.

013

Cooking up all the veggies in the skillet…it looks good!

014

I had to make these lentils because I couldn’t find “red” ones? Does anyone know the difference?

015

I also used barley instead of rice because I already had some in the pantry.

016

Here’s what it looked like coming out of the oven 🙂

018

I don’t know what it was but something I just didn’t care for. I think maybe it was too bland because it was better with some salt on it.

We had the casserole (x2) with some veggies and bread dipped in olive oil. Yum!

006

But I think dessert was my favorite! Court found these Diana’s Bananas banana babies, which the box described as “real bananas covered with non-dairy dark chocolate…perfect!

007

I may have to find some of these for myself. How awesome they were!

008

Even though I wasn’t thrilled with my dish, you live and learn. I hope one of these days I can make a really great tasting vegan dish. I’m hoping it was just the substitutions I made or something. Oh well!

Hope you all had a good Wednesday night too. Thank you for your comments on my decision not to watch The Biggest Loser…I deleted it from my DVR and I canceled the series recording. That felt great! Ha ha.

Have an awesome Thursday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 17, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, disappointment, lentils, Lunch, potluck, recipes, running, tv shows, Walking, workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You could always try adding a different spice blend to the meal.

    Those frozen bananas look great – is there any added sugar in them?

  2. Those bananas look so good! I think Trader Joe’s carries some like those as well.

  3. That dish looks really good…

    OMG Where did she find those bananas! I must go google them lol

  4. Sorry for the late response, but thanks from all of us at Diana’s Bananas for giving us a try and letting everyone know! We can be found in most major grocery stores, there is a store locator on the the siet (www.dianasbananas.com). Keep up the healthy eating, looks yummy!
    Susan Burns
    Social Media Manager, Diana’s Bananas

  1. Pingback: Prioritizing « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Vegan MoFo: My First Vegan Survey! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment