Sacrifice

After posting about Lent yesterday and having some time to think and talk to a few friends, I still had no idea what I was going to “give up” this year.

But then it hit me…I shouldn’t be searching for “bad things” to give up like the occasional diet soda or my strange fascination with tortilla chips…no.

I also considered giving up television and the internet but I still need the weather reports.

Rather, I should be giving up something I love, something that I see every day. Something I have become dependent on.

Because as Matt put it on Twitter this morning: “I always thought Lent was about sacrifice, not self-improvement.”

I also read Heather’s latest post where she decided to give up Stevia during Lent because it is something she has been using often and as she so eloquently put it: “That’s the whole point of Lent right – to give up something you love?”

So, in honor of those two amazing bloggers, I will now tell you what I have decided to give up. This is going to be hard…

FOR LENT, I AM GIVING UP BARS!

No, not the places, I’m not big on those anyway. I mean these:

I’m a little late getting started as I have one Larabar in my bag to eat today.

When is Easter? April 4, 2010.

So starting tomorrow (Feb. 20) through April 4, I’m giving up bars!

What am I going to learn from this?

  • To be more creative with my snacks 
  • To spend less money since I buy bars that are at least $1/each
  • Eat more whole foods as snacks
  • That I can go this long without eating bars!

I’ve enjoyed reading the responses of what you all are giving up. Keep ’em coming!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 19, 2010, in challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Hey Lady! That looks like a lofty goal – I just wanted to let you know I tagged you for a beautiful blogger award. Congrats! 😀

  2. Good luck! That would definitely be a tough one for me!

  3. Wow this is big for you…good luck chickie!!!!!

  4. that is a GREAT idea!!!! i can’t wait to see all of the little snackies you come up with 🙂

  5. Good luck! I’ve been really good at making bars for my husband and I. I used to get Larabars all the time, and he would have those bars with the PB on the bottom (high in sugars and fat!), so I make them. They’re very similar to the PB&J Larabars and have natural ingredients. It’s great!

    K

  6. I love Larabars and ClifKids – I admire your dedication! You can do it! 🙂

  7. Really good idea. I think you’re right that it will bring you variety and more whole foods. I used to eat a lot of bars and when I stopped (only because I thought it got expensive), I found that I was trying all sorts of new stuff. I think you’re also right about the meaning of Lent. Have a great Monday!

  8. Goodluck! That will be a rough one, I’m sure… I’ve become quite fond of those Cliff Kidz bars. Slightly obsessive may be a better description, but I’m trying to downplay my problem… lol

  1. Pingback: Motivated « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Almond butter is awesome « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Last one until Monday « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 5 « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 7 « See Sarah Eat

  6. Pingback: National Sweet Potato Day « See Sarah Eat

  7. Pingback: Sunny Saturday « See Sarah Eat

Leave a comment